Outgoing House Speaker Kevin McCarthy has declared he will not be seeking to regain his post after a historic vote of no confidence ousted him from one of the country's highest offices. The vote, instigated by far-right Republican representative Matt Gaetz, was supported by all 208 democrats present, along with eight republicans, allowing it to pass with 216 votes against 210. To find out more, SBS's Catalina Florez spoke to Jared Mondschein, Director of Research at the United States Studies Centre.