Under the Alliance 21 project, the first meeting of the Emerging Asia working group took place in Washington DC. Participants included Nicholas Burns (Harvard University), James Fallows (Atlantic Magazine), Sean Gallagher (US Studies Centre), Devesh Kapur (University of Pennsylvania), Manik Suri (Harvard University), Michael L’Estrange (Australian National University), Andrew MacIntyre (Australian National University), Huw McKay (Westpac Bank), Kishore Mahbubani (National University of Singapore), Susan Shirk (University of California, San Diego) and Michael Wesley (Lowy Institute for International Policy).