Former US National Security Advisor and inaugural holder of the Japan Chair at the Hudson Institute Lieutenant General H.R. McMaster will join an online panel discussion with the United States Studies Centre on Friday 19 June at 10.30am AEST (18 June at 8.30pm EDT).

At a time when the world is struggling with the COVID-19 pandemic, the Chinese Communist Party has become more coercive and disruptive. The Australia-India-Japan-United States security quadrilateral – known as the Quad – has resultingly assumed greater importance and relevance because it consists of the four countries in the Indo-Pacific who are the most forward-leaning and capable of challenging Beijing’s destabilising efforts.

Yet, divergences between the four countries remain. Despite New Delhi’s sharing similar concerns about Beijing’s actions, India continues to formally eschew alliances and formal commitments while strategic, economic and intelligence cooperation between the other three members are becoming closer than they have ever been.

This tension is highlighted by Non-Resident Senior Fellow at the United States Studies Centre and Senior Fellow at the Hudson Institute Dr John Lee. He notes “India is apprehensive about Chinese coercion, but they have resisted agreeing to formal commitments with other members. Given these dynamics, what ought we expect from the Quad?”

To discuss these issues, Lt General McMaster will be joined by Dr Charles Edel, Senior Fellow at the US Studies Centre; Dr John Lee, Non-Resident Senior Fellow at the US Studies Centre, and Senior Fellow at the Hudson Institute, Washington DC; and Dr Lavina Lee, Senior Lecturer at Macquarie University and author of the recently published report, Assessing the Quad: Prospects and Limitations of Quadrilateral Cooperation for Advancing Australia’s Interests.

Date and time

Sydney
Friday, 19 June
10:30-11:30am AEST

Washington, DC
Thursday, 18 June
8:30-9:30pm EDT

Register

Registration is free, but essential