Former Australian prime minister John Howard and former World Bank president Robert Zoellick are keynote speakers at a United States Studies Centre–sponsored conference next month celebrating the tenth anniversary of the Australia–United States Free Trade Agreement.

Co-sponsored by the American Chamber of Commerce in Australia (AmCham) and the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade, the Celebrating 10 years of the Australia–US Free Trade Agreement will feature presentations by Australian and American business leaders, government officials, and policy experts, and explore the past, present, and future of the two nations’ international trade relationship.

The Sydney conference will also include panels on trade and investment, unconventional energy, and fostering innovation. Participants will discuss how to bolster future prosperity across the Pacific, as well as the state of the Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP). The US Congress is about to undertake a critical vote on Trade Promotion Authority legislation, fast-tracking America's involvement in the controversial deal.

Centre CEO Bates Gill said the conference would be an opportunity to reflect on the Australia–US trade relationship, as well as look ahead to future collaboration and agreements. “The Australia–US Free Trade Agreement has, in many ways, formed the basis of prosperity between the two countries, especially in terms of investment. But there are many more opportunities ahead as we look to the nearly-completed Trans-Pacific Partnership trade agreement," he said.

Other speakers include:

  • Michael Thawley — Secretary, Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet
  • John Berry — United States Ambassador to Australia
  • Martin Ferguson — Chairman, The Australian Petroleum Production and Exploration Association
  • Mark Vaile — Former Deputy Prime Minister of Australia
  • Kate Carnell — CEO, Australian Chamber of Commerce and Industry
  • Andrew Stoler — Former Deputy Director General, World Trade Organization
  • Tony Wood — Energy Program Coordinator, Grattan Institute
  • Nick Wilson — Managing Director, Hewlett-Packard, South Pacific
  • Brad Furber — COO, Michael Crouch Innovation Centre, UNSW Australia
  • Alex Wonhas — Executive Director, CSIRO Energy
  • Sarah Vaughan — Developer Experience Director, Microsoft Australia
  • Dean Dalla Vale — BHP President HSE, Marketing & Technology, BHP Billiton
  • Heather Ridout — Chair AustralianSuper Pty Ltd and Board Member, Reserve Bank of Australia
  • Page Maxson — Chairman CEO, Australia Pacific LNG Pty Ltd
  • For more information and for the full program, visit the US Studies Centre website.

WHAT: Australia–US Free Trade Agreement: Building Our Future Prosperity

WHEN: 2 July 2015, 8am–2.30pm

WHERE: Grand Ballroom, Hilton Sydney, 488 George Street Sydney NSW 2000