Council of Advisors

The Council of Advisors was established to contribute to the work of the US Studies Centre by offering its advice, expertise and experience in the United States and Australia-US relations to the Centre's Board of Directors.

Mark Johnson AO (Co-Chair)
Chairman of the Australian Financial Centre Task Force

Robert Joss (Co-Chair)
Dean, Graduate School of Business, Stanford University

Richard Armitage AC
Founder, Armitage International

Michael Baume AO
Former diplomat and front-bench federal politician

Kim Beazley AC
Former Australian Ambassador to the United States

Jeffrey L. Bleich
Former US Ambassador to Australia

Gina Despres
Former Senior Vice President, Capital Research and Management Co.

Stephen Fitzgerald
Former Chairman of Goldman Sachs Australian and New Zealand

Fleur Harlan
Trustee of The Manhattan Institute

Bob Hawke AC
Former Prime Minister of Australia

John Howard AC
Former Prime Minister of Australia

James A. Johnson
Businessman and Democratic Party strategist

Mike Kane
Chief Executive Officer & Managing Director, Boral Australia

Roy Krzywosinski
Former Managing Director of Chevron Australia Pty Ltd

Andrew Liveris
President, Chairman and CEO of Dow Chemical

Michael McRobbie AO
President, Indiana University

Lachlan Murdoch
Chairman, Illyria Pty Ltd

Don Nutbeam
Vice-Chancellor of the University of Southampton

Judy Olian
Dean, UCLA Anderson School of Management

Anthony Pratt
Chairman and CEO of Pratt Industries

Stephen Roberts
Chairman, Citi Australia

Thomas Schieffer
Former US Ambassador to Australia and Japan

Carol Schwartz AM
Board Member, Reserve Bank of Australia

Michael Spence
Vice Chancellor, University of Sydney

Michael Thawley
Former Australian Ambassador to the United States